top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Cole

The Impossible

This week in Artt2372 we have started to come up with ideas for our impossible project. The impossible project is supposed to be something that you make that seems impossible for you to do. On Tuesday everyone brought their project proposals which we talked about during class one by one. As we were going around the room giving suggestions and feedback, it was my turn! I was open to hearing new suggestions and ideas for my impossible project because I was still figuring out what exactly I wanted to do. I had a couple of ideas but I really wanted to narrow it down. The class helped me decide what exactly I was going to do. Originally for the impossible project, I was going to make a hand-sewn 70" x 90" quilt that would have 12 squares. For each of the squares, I would make the astrological signs for each square in LED lights. Once my classmates and I went over the proposal I embraced there ideas and thoughts for what I could do and the possible problems with the proposal project. I will still be making a hand-sewn quilt but a smaller quilt that is 50" x 65" and instead of having 12 of the astrological signs I will be doing one of the constellations in the night sky. After doing some research on the constellations, I've decided I will be creating with lights Cygnus the swan, or also known as the northern cross. Cygnus looks like a swan in the sky but also looks like a cross that has the brightest star, Deneb in the sky. This has always been one of my favorite constellations since I was little. I chose to do this impossible project because I've always wanted to learn how to sew ever since I made a little cat in third grade where we learning how to sew. Ever since then I have found it interesting. I also chose to work with lights because during this semester I struggled to work with lights and switches. Anytime Dr. Justice told us that we would be working with lights, switches, or anything that would make a circuit I always got nervous because I was worried it wouldn't work on my first try. I think this impossible project will definitely test me and put me to my limits. I look forward to pushing myself to somewhere that I deemed impossible





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page