top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Cole

Making The Impossible Possible

It's around that time of year where students start preparing for their final exams stressing over the projects, tests, and little things that go wrong in your day. Many classes have exams that are stressful but for the Artt2372 class, we are in the middle of a big project that will surely be testing us and our patience. This whole semester in Artt2372 we have continuously talked about a project that would be coming up. An impossible project. Throughout this whole semester, we were supposed to be making connections to the pieces/inquiries to incorporate into our project. For the impossible project, we are supposed to do something that we don't know how to do. This week in class was completely different than last week. Last week I had a general idea for what I wanted to do for the project but this past week I started to realize that it was going to more difficult than expected. Last week I was going to make a quilt that would be large enough to cover your body and have the 12 astrological signs in each square of the quilt. I never thought about how exactly I would accomplish this impossible project. I knew for the original idea that I would have to learn how to sew and make circuits to be able to make a light for the stars in astrological signs. This last week I came into a realization that what I wanted to do originally would take the time that I don't have to complete the impossible project. Instead, I will be making a smaller quilt. The materials I will be using are the copper sewing string, regular sewing string, fabric, needle, the board with the light in it and a spot to attach the copper sewing string. Last week I was learning how to make circuits with the copper conductor sewing string. My main focus was putting circuits together and figuring out how I could make them work. I still need to figure out different ways that I could set up the circuit with different materials such as alligator clips but I think the copper conductor sewing string would work best with what I am trying to do. I am now going to make my favorite constellation which is Cygnus(swan), it has the brightest star in the sky, Deneb. Instead of making a full-sized blanket I will be making a smaller one and do seven lights for each of the stars that make Cygnus. My goal is to try to figure out how I will be doing the switches, how to sew the copper conductor into the fabric without any of it crossing, and how to hook up the circuits. In the last class, I was mainly focusing on how to set up circuits and watching videos on how to do so. I also experimented with working on one type of circuit. The copper sewing In the last class, I was mainly focusing on how to set up circuits and watching videos on how to do so. I also experimented with working on one type of circuit. It definitely got frustrating while working with the copper sting because I couldn't figure out what I kept doing wrong, which was putting both sides of the copper string on a positive when they were supposed to be. I am still learning more on what to do and can't wait to see what comes next!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page