top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Cole

Impossible Year Turning Possible!

It's that time of year where students get excited, end of the semester, and the year coming to close. For students, this is a stressful time of year where studying, working on projects, and nerves all crammed into one week called finals.


I am excited to say that for Artt2372 the Impossible project is truly possible! Since the beginning of the semester, we have been constantly told since day one of the classes about what we are working on class will translate over to our impossible project. I originally was skeptical about taking a class that was centered around technology but as we kept working through each lesson I kept learning how important technology is in our lives and the power of a curious brain. Taking this class has really opened my mind to, observe, ask questions, and to figure out how things work. Before taking this class I was fully against using technology in the classroom setting because I believed students would be constantly captivated by their phones. I would want students to be intrigued by what they are learning instead of the device they are using. My perspective had changed in this class from the beginning. I would say this is a very useful course to take for those new to technology and those who are familiar with the usage. I think the reason I was not okay with technology usage was that its mostly promoted as a bad thing but times are changing to people incorporating technology in their day to day lives but also in their artwork. People are growing more of an interest in how the technology works. People are starting to test the waters to see what they are able to do with technology and I think that is interesting for people to grasp an interest. Taking this class had definitely taught me to go outside of my comfort zone with creating, building and not having a set "end piece". While creating my impossible project I had an idea of what I wanted to make but I hadn't quite figured out all the details. I knew I wanted to make a quilt with lights in it with my favorite constellation, Cygnus. This constellation is my favorite because when I was little my favorite movie was the Barbie Swan Lake movie. I loved this movie because there was so much hope and I loved the story of the swan, Odett. To this day I still love watching this movie whenever it comes on. Watching that movie made me fall in love with the constellations and the stories they hold. In the future, or even now I think a constellation blanket would be a huge profit for kids who are interested in the stars or want to learn more about them. The constellation blanket could be selected for whoever would buy it and could have the story about the constellation with the blanket it comes with. I feel like having a constellation blanket for all ages would be great for drawing interest in how the lights work inside a blanket. In the process of making the blanket with the lights, I had to use alligator clips to make sure the circuit was working properly with the sewing wire. My main concern was the sewing wire not working how I wanted to or if my sewing would not be tight enough or crossed over in any way for it not to be able to work. There were a few issues with my sewing wired crossing over and one light not working. To fix the problem I added another battery and battery holder into the quilt to draw more energy for the light. I am looking forward to showing everyone in the class what I had made possibl!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page